scruggs style

I had never heard this term until a month ago. I played bass for a bluegrass music service at church and had my first up close real-life look at a banjo player. I’ve never seen anything like it. This guy was fast. I found out later that he’s a local favorite in the woodstock, marietta area up here in Georgia. I never saw any bluegrass in New Orleans, but it’s really popular up here I’ve found out.

Of all the instruments I ever thought to learn how to play, the banjo was not even on the list. Well I was so impressed with this guy, that I decided I wanted to try it out. So I found out that my church owns an old epiphone banjo. I am borrowing it right now and I am learning to play “scruggs style” made popular by a man by the name of Earl Scruggs, the guy who played the banjo for the theme song for The Beverly Hillbillies. I didn’t know there were styles either, but there’s also another style called clawhammer, which I’m not too interested in as of now. I’m going through Earl Scruggs and the 5 string banjo. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

